PA forms body to probe students harassment incidents

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly here Tuesday constituted a nine member Special Committee to probe the incidents in which female students were harassed by teachers in University of Peshawar.

The issue was raised by PPP leader Nighat Orakzai on an adjournment motion in the session of the assembly chaired by Deputy Speaker Imtiaz Shahid.

Nighat Orakzai said that parents and students have expressed concerns over the increasing incidents of female harassments by teachers in University of Peshawar. 

She said that these sorts of incidents have been also reported in the past and she himself raised voice against those happenings on the floor of KP Assembly in 2011. She contended that on one hand females are deserting educational institutions on the other hand educational atmosphere in our universities was on decline. 

Opposition leader Sardar Mehtab Ahmad Khan Abbasi, Sikandar Khan Sherpao of QWP, Uzma Khan of JUIF, Muhammad Ali Shah Bacha of PPP, Munawar Khan Advocate of JUIF, Sardar Aurangzeb Nalota of PMLN and Minister for Information Shah Farman supported Nighat Orakzai and demanded formation of committee to probe the matter to identify those who were involved in such incidents.

Taking the floor, Senior Minister Siraj-ul-Haq said that there should be separate education institutions and separate assembly and other departments for females.

After hearing the debates of legislators on the issue, Depty Speaker Imtiaz Shahid constituted a committee comprising of Minister for Information, Shah Farman, Mushtaq Ghani Advisor to CM for Higher Education, MPA Nghat Orakzai of PPP, MPA Uzma Khan of JUIF, MPA Anisa Zeb of QWP, Sobia Shahid of PMLN and MPA Dina Naz, Rashida Rifat and Ayesha of PTI.

Source: The Frontier Post.