Technical education body Gets Autonomy

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp


Khyber Pakhtunkhwa government has awarded autonomy to technical education and vocational training agency and approved restructuring of the directorate of technical education. The government renamed the agency as Technical Education and Vocational Training Authority (TEVTA) and granted it autonomous status in a meeting held here on Saturday with Chief Minister Pervez Khattak in the chair, said a handout. The meeting decided that in future students of technical training would spend three days a week in a vocational centre to learn theory and three days in a factory for practical work. All admissions will be given on the basis of the demands of local industry and market. The products of the under-training students will be marketed and the profit will be distributed among the students and institute on the basis of a fixed formula of 80:20 per cent. At the end of the technical training, the graduates would be given employment in the relevant sector through local entrepreneurs. The meeting also decided to vocationalise the schools throughout in province. The subject of technical training will be made compulsory from class 6th to class 8th. The chief minister appreciated TEVTA team for implementing his directives and making considerable progress in a short span of time. He said that government would leave no stone unturned to provide the required funds TEVTA. Today the certificates and degrees of our technical education have no worth as no one takes care of its standard. If the situation remains the same, spending of millions of rupees fund is useless,” Mr Khattak said. He said that he wanted spending of each and every penny of public exchequer in a transparent and result-oriented manner. He said that government was determined to prepare domestic skilled manpower for industrialists and investors, who intended to make investment there. TEVTA Chairman Eng Nauman Wazir, Adviser to Chief Minister Rafaqatullah Babar, Chief Secretary Amjad Ali Khan, Additional Chief Secretary Khalid Pervez, Higher Education Secretary Farah Hamid, Law Secretary Mohammad Arifeen, Industries Secretary Mohammad Ali Shehzada, University of Engineering and Technology Vice-chancellor Syed Imtiaz Hussain Gilani, Islamia College University Vice-chancellor Dr Qibla Ayaz, University of Peshawar Vice-chancellor Dr Rasool Jan and Principal Secretary to Chief Minister Mohammad Ishfaq Khan besides other officials attended the meeting.

Source : Dawn.