Graduate Assessment Tests (GAT)

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp

The Higher Education Commission (HEC) has assigned National Testing Service (NTS) the responsibility to conduct GRE (Graduate Record Examination) Type Test. There are two types of these tests.

  1. GAT-General
  2. GAT-Subject

GAT-General (Graduate Assessment Test) for admissions in M.Phil and HEC Scholarship Schemes and GAT-Subject for PhD. Programs. The test result will remain valid for Two Years for admissions and HEC Scholarship Schemes.

  1. Candidate intending to improve their previous GAT Score can also apply.
  2. The candidates will have to qualify other specified criteria of the Universities / HEC Schemes.

Candidates with a minimum of sixteen years of education are eligible to appear in GAT General and 18 years education for GAT Subject.

GAT General

GAT-General measures the verbal, quantitative, and analytical skills that you have acquired over a long period of time and that may not be necessarily related to any specific field of study. It is for M.Phil admission and HEC scholarships.

GAT Subject

GAT-Subject helps to evaluate, analyze, solve problems, understand relationships and interpret material in a specific area of study. It is for Ph.D. admission.

100 MCQs are distributed on the following format:

  1. Major Subjects (Core Area) 70%
  2. English (Verbal) 15%
  3. Analytical Reasoning 15%

Candidates with a minimum of eighteen years of education are eligible to appear in the test.